Access Keys:

Roe Valley Integrated Primary School Limavady

Safeguarding and Child Protection

Safeguarding and Child Protection Ethos

We in Roe Valley Integrated Primary School have a responsibility for the safeguarding and child protection of the children in our care and we will carry out this duty by providing a caring, supportive and safe environment, where each child is valued for his or her unique talents and abilities, and in which all our young people can learn and develop to their full potential. All staff, teaching and non-teaching are alert to the signs of possible abuse and know the procedures to be followed.

Key Principles of Safeguarding and Child Protection

The general principles, which underpin our work, are those set out in the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child and are enshrined in the Children (Northern Ireland) Order 1995, the Department of Education (Northern Ireland) guidance “Safeguarding and Child Protection in Schools”  and the Safeguarding Board for NI Core Child Protection Policy and Procedures (2017).

The following principles form the basis of our Child Protection Policy:

  • the child or young person’s welfare is paramount
  • the voice of the child or young person should be heard
  • parents are supported to exercise parental responsibility and families helped stay together
  • partnership
  • prevention
  • responses should be proportionate to the circumstances
  • protection and
  • evidence based and informed decision making

Roe Valley IPS School Safeguarding Team

The following are members of the schools Safeguarding team:

  • Chair of the Board of Governors - Mr Ryan Brolly
  • Designated Governor for Child Protection - Mr Peter Miller
  • Principal - Mrs Julie McDonagh
  • Designated Teacher - Ms Ashleigh-Ann McDonald
  • Deputy Designated Teacher - Mrs Claire Boyd
  • Deputy Designated Teacher - Mrs Julie McDonagh
Mrs Julie McDonagh
Mrs Julie McDonagh

Principal and Deputy Designated Teacher for Child Protection

Mrs Claire Boyd
Mrs Claire Boyd

Primary 1 Teacher, Learning Support Co-ordinator and Deputy Designated Teacher for Child Protection

Ms Ashleigh-Ann McDonald
Ms Ashleigh-Ann McDonald

Primary 6 Teacher, Vice-Principal and Designated Teacher for Child Protection

Mr Ryan Brolly
Mr Ryan Brolly

Chair of Board of Governors 


Mr Peter Miller
Mr Peter Miller

Designated Govenor for Child Protection